How to separete network for some VMs form my normal home network

tegralens

Nov 8, 2018
Hello all. I am new to proxmox and I do not know how I would separate and make an internal network. I used virtual box and it was easier to separate the network.

Can someone help me to see how I would accomplish this? See pic attached to how I was starting to do the network part.

Example.
10.0.0.0 Network (this will be my separate network for testing and all that stuff but will not have access to my home network)

VM1
VM2
VM3
I think It's possible that these can have access to the internet but not access my home internal normal network.

192.168.1.0 Network (home network)
VM4 - Would be my home network using my router which I also use for DHCP

I do not have a lot of experience with VLAN and New to Proxmox. (Been watching a lot of Videos) I would like to stay with Proxmox.

Any help will be appreciated. Thank you all for your hard work.

I am running a Dell PowerEdge R620 with a quad nic. One of the nics are being used now to access my home network. Which is how I can connect to Proxmox.

Attachments

• 1.PNG
    1.PNG
    62.1 KB · Views: 50
No help from anyone?
Hi tegralens

There are several ways to use separate networks, depending on your infrastructure. The best way is to use VLANs and a firewall to connect them with the internet and to restrict access, even though you don't have much experience with VLANs or Proxmox. Otherwise you'll run into issues and limitations that you really want to avoid... ;)

In order to use VLANs, your switches should support tagged VLAN (IEEE 802.1Q). There are many affordable "smart managed" switches that support VLANs.

On Proxmox you can configure VLANs too, but if you don't have experience, then keep you fingers away ... ;) .