how to remove a node?

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by Gad, Apr 9, 2019.

  1. Gad

    Gad New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi i wanted to test the ability to have two nodes of proxmox
    but now when i turn off , one node , i am getting erros on the other node

    how can i tell proxmox that i dont want to have two nodes?

    i am unable to reboot or do anything if node two is not online
    i have seen the below post but it talks about how to remove all VMs from cluster
    but i want to keep my orginal node , and not delete
    https://forum.proxmox.com/threads/removing-deleting-a-created-cluster.18887/

    please help
     
  2. oguz

    oguz Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    31
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Gad likes this.
  3. Gad

    Gad New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you i did not see this...
    so i need only to power off the node
    then from shell of node1 remove node2
    node1# pvecm delnode node2
     
  4. oguz

    oguz Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    31
    yes. but be careful about putting node2 back online. you should wipe it first.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Gad

    Gad New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    will do!
     
  6. Gad

    Gad New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi i have two issues, please help
    1. when trying to remove i am getting IPs and not names
    error :400 Parameter verification failed. when i put the ip

    2. i did as guide said

    pvecm nodes
    shutdown (node 2)
    pvecm delnode node2

    i am getting the no qurm 500 error when node2 is powered off?
    do i need to keep it up when i try to remove it? wiki says it should be down when i do delete

    Thanks!
     
  7. moeffju

    moeffju New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gad, try `pvecm expected 1`, then run the delnode command again.
     
  8. Gad

    Gad New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi this is after or before i shutdown node2
     
  9. Gad

    Gad New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so i think it worked.... i will tell what i did for the next noob that comes along and thinks is bulding a data center with two i5 :)

    1.
    root@Gad:~# pvecm nodes

    Membership information
    ----------------------
    Nodeid Votes Name
    1 1 192.168.1.35 (local)
    2 1 192.168.1.25


    2.
    pvecm delnode 2
    Node name did not work i used node id
    and got and error

    3.
    pvecm expected 1

    4.
    pvecm delnode 2

    5. Shutdown node 2, took it off power and network :)

    thanks all!
    still did not try to reboot node1, hopes all goes well i have a critical machine running there
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice