[SOLVED] How to connect OPNsense OPT1 interface with another VM

jazzlover

Dec 24, 2023
Hello there,

I'm trying (not very successfully yet) to setup a router/firewall (OPNsense) and a small server with a bunch of jails (FreeBSD) as VMs on proxmox and struggling with networking. Can't get my head around how to make it work given that I'm just learning networking.

The goal is to conect jails to the virtual interfaces on OPNsense, which should act as routers for the segments in order to control traffic with the firewall and allow to communicate with the Internet.

On proxmox I created four vmbrs without IPs: vmbr0 for LAN and the rest three for different segments (DMZ, apps) and passed these vmbrs to both OPNsense and FreeBSD. vmbr is connected to a physical NIC with connected to a physical switch (LAN). vmbr1-3 are virtual ones, connected to nothing physical.

I successfully setup OPNsense with several interfaces: WAN, LAN, OPT1-3. For OPT1-3 I assigned the passed through vmbrs from proxmox and setup IPs for different segments to act as routers for the segments. vmbr0 is for LAN.

On FreeBSD the vmbr0 is the primary interface from LAN for the host. The vmbr1-3 (appear as vtnet1-3 inside the VM) I defined as bridges and connected to them jails with epairs.

It started to work at the beginning, but, apparently, the traffic from the jails was routed through LAN interface (host) and the my network "design" seems like a really flawed one. I was hoping that vmbr would act as a switch between VMs, but it doesn't.

So, the main question is if it possible to "pass"(or whatever) an interface from one VM (OPT1 from OPNsense) to another (FreeBSD) on proxmox? How one would accomplish to establish such a connection?

Hi,