How to avoid RAID1

caccia78

May 9, 2020
Hi,
I am a newbie therefore please apologize for any stupid thing I could say.
I have installed Proxmox on a NUC and started with a single disk (NVME M.2) where I have two partitions, a LVM-Thin where I have two VMs and a Directory where I have disck image, container, snippets...
Later I added an SSD where I wanted to have other VMs (mainly just some tests I do) and some space for other backup + some disks that VMs on the Disk 1 (NVME M.2 above) could use. On this second HD therefore I created again two storages: a LVM-Thin and a Directory.
I didn't want to have any kind of RAID (BIOS is set with RAID disable).
The point now is that both the LVM-Thin have the same content like I had set them to RAID1.
How can I avoid this?

Thanks,
Vins

Attachments

• Schermata 2020-05-09 alle 23.00.04.png
    Schermata 2020-05-09 alle 23.00.04.png
    230.8 KB · Views: 20
  • Schermata 2020-05-09 alle 22.59.59.png
    Schermata 2020-05-09 alle 22.59.59.png
    221.9 KB · Views: 18
  • Schermata 2020-05-09 alle 22.59.22.png
    Schermata 2020-05-09 alle 22.59.22.png
    141.2 KB · Views: 16
  • Schermata 2020-05-09 alle 22.59.09.png
    Schermata 2020-05-09 alle 22.59.09.png
    133.9 KB · Views: 15
  • Schermata 2020-05-09 alle 22.58.08.png
    Schermata 2020-05-09 alle 22.58.08.png
    40.8 KB · Views: 14
Hi,

you probably "just" selected the same backing storage when you added the second hdd-img/storageprox storage entries.
Both of your LVM-Thin storages point to the same volumegroup, pve, that's why the content seems identical because you look at the same thing.

You can edit the storage and ensure that it uses the respective Volume Group you created on the SSD, e.g.:

Screenshot_2020-05-10 nina - Proxmox Virtual Environment.png

Thanks a lot Thomas,
I understand now the problem.
Saying I want to recover the situation, I was trying to create a new PVE or LVM Thinpool but I can't because it says there are no empty disks.