How to add hard drive to host

virtualtechie

Dec 12, 2022
Newbie here. Having an issue with extra hard drive not showing up.

Hardware:
HP Proliant DL360 Gen 6 server (older but good enough for what I need)
Dual Intel Xeon X5670 @ 2.93GHz CPUs
96GB RAM (12 x 8GB DDR3 ECC RDIMM)
4 x 2TB 2.5" SAS HDDs (configured as 2 x 2TB logical drives in a RAID1 via HP Smart Array P410i RAID controller)

Proxmox is installed onto one of the logical drives (/dev/sda). I can create VMs and upload ISOs to this logical drive. I can see the other logical drive under "Disks"; it shows as /dev/sdb. I can't seem to do anything with it though. When creating new VMs it doesn't show up as a disk available, only sda shows.

I'm also new to Linux but looking to and willing to learn. How can I go about adding sdb so that I can use it?

Last edited:
You would need to format the drive via the UI (Click on the Node > Disks > Select your disk > Initialize disk with GPT). Depending on what kind of storage you want to create with your disk, the next steps differ.

If you want to create a directory storage, you would simply navigate to Directory in the sidebar and then click 'Create'. There you just supply the sdb disk and enter a name and a type of filesystem.
Be aware that Directory storage does not support many features offered by PVE such as Snapshots (you can check the capabilities of the different storage types in our documentation: [1]).