High RAM usage (Proxmox, LXC, ZFS)

zmeister

Sep 19, 2018
Hi guys,

I am just starting out with Proxmox / LXC / ZFS. I have tried Proxmox before and loved it, however this time I have a different setup!

Server specs:
16 GB RAM (DDR4)
2x 450GB NVME SSD (ZFS Mirror)
Intel Xeon E3-1230v6 - 4c/8t - 3.5GHz

I am only using one empty LXC container at the moment - it is not using any RAM (30MB). The node reports that 9GB of RAM is used! And only ~500MB in buffers/cache.

Previously on this same (brand new) node I created another 4-5 containers (they are all stopped now) with variable RAM set - allocated over the 16GB of physical RAM I have, however all of those containers were never used as they were empty and they all reported ~20-30MB RAM used.

The question I have is why an empty node has such high RAM usage. I only have 16GB of RAM, so if ZFS is caching some disk accesses then I don't really need it. I have a very fast NVME SSD drive.

Would you please have a look at the below data to see where this RAM is going? I am not technical enough in this configuration.

root@ns3104805:~# free -m
total used free shared buff/cache available
Mem: 15726 9285 5987 118 453 5996
Swap: 4095 0 4095

Please see the attachment with htop memory screenshot.

I thought this is a bit odd as I would expect the node to only be around 1GB in use. Because buffers/cache is only reporting 500MB, I believe the 8.5GB is active memory in use? This means it will not be freed for the containers to use?

If I only have 6GB of workable memory from 16GB physical RAM, it is very cost inefficient for me with this server.

I would really appreciate your help if you could help me pinpoint where exactly this RAM is being used, and whether any optimisations should be made?

Thank you!
Z

Attachments

• high_ram_usage_proxmox_zfs.PNG
    high_ram_usage_proxmox_zfs.PNG
    89.1 KB · Views: 71
An addition: after reboot the node is reporting 1.2 GB RAM usage.

I will try to replicate the high RAM usage again.