Help Needed Configuring pfSense on Proxmox with a Single NIC

sameerlike141

Jun 5, 2021
I recently purchased a server from Hetzner and installed Proxmox on it. My server has a single NIC, and I want to set up pfSense on a VM within Proxmox using this single NIC.

I am a beginner in both pfSense and networking, and I would appreciate detailed guidance on how to configure pfSense in this scenario. Specifically, I need help with setting up the WAN and LAN interfaces using the single NIC available.

Thank you in advance for your assistance!

Is this server a hosted server somewhere with also only a single WAN-IP, or do you have direct access to the console (at least during setup)

I'm asking because if you only have a single WAN-IP, it can be tricky to set it up (since the WAN-IP is already in use by proxmox) and if you make a mistake fixing it is also tricky. Not saying it's impossible, just tricky.

I've recently posted instructions for someone else who wanted to do the same, and for them it worked (but they did try out the steps beforehand on an old PC/laptop/server they had laying about to get a knack for the exact steps)
https://forum.proxmox.com/threads/pfsense-proxmox-with-one-public-ip.153309/#post-697463

I have purchased a server from Hetzner and am using Proxmox on it. I have attached an image of the network settings, but I'm not sure how to configure pfSense as a firewall. I want all VMs to access the internet through pfSense, and if I need to forward any ports, I want to manage that through pfSense as well.
1725632315304.png

What is the purpose of the pfSense system with 1 nic? It can be done if you have a layer 3 switch (vLAN ability) but on a public network, I doubt this is an option.

I am not the best at the linux networking side - this article may help you. https://superuser.com/questions/938805/how-forward-packets-from-network-interface-to-another

From the pfSense side, I would have 2 nics.