Help for a new server/workstation

technewbie

Sep 19, 2021
Hi everyone,

I recently started learning and using proxmox on my home lab.

I'm trying to build a server/workstation for machine learning and deep learning and maybe some gaming.

My system build is as following;

AMD Threadripper Pro 3995WX 64 bit - 64 cores,
Asus WRX80 SAGE wifi Motherboard,
32 GB 3200 Mhz DDR4 ECC RAM x 8 units total 256GB,
Nvidia RTX 3090 Turbo 24 GB Reference Graphics Cards x 4 units,

As for storage I'm thinking of;

2 units of NVME drives 1TB each with RAID0 (High speed RAID) ZFS for proxmox installation and OSes of separate VMs (High speed - small size VDisks),
1 unit of 256 GB NVME for SWAP partition,
4 units of 2TB 2.5" SSDs with RAID10 (High speed and redundancy) ZFS as seperate attached disks for VMs (Medium speed - medium size VDisks),
4 units of 10TB 3.5" HDDs with RAID10 (High speed and redundancy) ZFS as seperate attached disks for VMs (Low speed - large size VDisks)

I'm gonna create VMs with high speed VDisks and attach each VM multiple Medium speed and Low speed VDisks for AI training.

The motherboard has 3 NVME and 8 SATA ports and that's why I thought of this RAID and Disk combination but I couldn't find if the motherboard or Proxmox support the RAID and disk combination I'm thinking of. Is this configuration logical to you and if I can do it ?

It's perfect that Proxmox supports PCIE passthrough and GPU Virtualization as I can assign these resources physically or virtually to create more AI Training VMs.

I'm open to advices and new ideas. I would be glad if I could find a solution for RAID because I don't want to use closed source virtualization softwares like VMware etc.

I hope I could express what I'm thinking because I'm not a native English speaker.

Thanks

Last edited:
Now that's a high-spec workstation! The storage setup in general is certainly possible and seems to make sense, if it fits your requirements. Here's some general pointers: