HDD setup for Plex and other VMS

TheSpartan18k

Aug 28, 2021
Hello,

I am new to Proxmox. I am looking for the best way to setup my HDDs for Plex. My setup is 128gb of ECC RAM. Dual e5-2560 v2s and 8 identical 3TB HDDs. Proxmox is installed in a ZFS raid on two SSDs. My problem is that I want to be able to move my media storage around from VM to VM. I read that using 6 HDDs in ZFS2 is ideal for performance, which I would also like because the hard drives are from 2011. So do I just pass through my HDDs to Ubuntu and create the raid pool there to be able to move it or do I create a pool in Proxmox? I plan to create my first media server and move all of my existing media from my Windows server and then create a second, more advanced media server that I would like to move my storage to. Additionally, I know that in the future I will outgrow this server and need to move the media storage again. In addition to the media server, I will have other VMs for things like a windows machine, minecraft server, and a website. Docker will be used for the media servers as well.

Thanks for any advice!

Reactions: tazomaniac
First I wouldn't run VMs on HDDs, HDDs are very bad as a VM storage because VMs need alot of IOPS and HDDs just can't handle that (expecially if these are not some enterprise 10K or 15K RPM disks). As a VM storage you really want some enterprise grade SSDs (look for some second hand ones with good SMART values if you are low on budget).

For your media I wouldn't use big virtual disks. Keep in mind that VMs can't share the same virtual disk. So you want to use SMB or NFS shares to bring your media into your VMs. So what you really need is some kind of NAS. Here you have two options: