[SOLVED] GRUB Rescue - Need help for beginner!

nigi

Jan 1, 2017
Hi,
I'm not very experienced with Linux core systems, but I think I've got a big, big problem:
After restarting my server, it doesn't boot anymore

GRUN loading.. Welcome to GRUB! error: no such device: 542d67217ce82747. error: unknown filesystem. grub rescue>

Can anybody give me support, what to do now? I've found some information in the internet, but I'm not sure if they are applicable to ZFS.
And before making something wrong it's better to ask here, I think.

Thanks
nigi

Thanks!
But there is a nex problem: I've got no partition >512 M
Bildschirmfoto 2022-12-10 um 19.07.58.png

how many disks you have ?
4 x 3T are zfs member
but seems missing the boot drive ?

Looks like an older Proxmox install (maybe updates several major versions?) where GRUB was used in combination with booting directly from ZFS. This turned out to be fragile and broke when people updates Proxmox and their ZFS pools. This was before proxmox-boot-tool and the 512MB ESP partitions. If so, then reinstalling (VMs from backup) might be the easiest solution. You can try putting the /boot directory (from the ZFS rpool) on a USB storage device and installing GRUB there to get it to boot again (but you'll need to keep it synced manually).

Hi gabriel, hi leesteken,
yes, this Server started (i think) with PVE 5.x a long time ago. While getting in contact with GRUB once in five years, I'm out of practice. So thank you very much for your support.
To avoid destroying any data, I've started with a new installation as mentioned by leesteken. My HDDs are about 5 years old :oops: and thats a good time to start with new SSDs or NVMEs ;-)
I've mounted the old ZFS pool. It's tricky to mount two pools named "rpool" ;-) But some of my dirs in /etc/ are empty!!! Espescially the PVE-dir with all settings! So I had to restore the settings from backup and now I'm mounting the old container and images and started to move them to my new pool.