GPU Passthrough Fans not Working

Nemo6262

Oct 8, 2019
So after many weeks of struggling and scrolling through a lot of forums, I finally got 2 Windows 10 VMs working on my current build. Everything works fine, until I turn either one of the VMs on. Then the GPU assigned to said VM turns its fans off. I have tested the GPUs in a different computer and they work fine. I have also noticed that when I turn the VMs off, proxmox goes ahead and starts the fans back up normally. I have installed the current Nvidia Drivers and I have tried doing a fresh install, nothing has worked. Does anyone know how to fix this problem? I apologize in advance, I am new to proxmox.

Current Build:
2950x Threadripper 2
64GB of RAM
2x Gigabyte 1080 Tis OC
1x Spare GPU for proxmox to output terminal on
Alot of storage

Proxmox Version (found using pveversion):
pve-manager/6.0-4/2a719255 (running kernel: 5.0.15-1-pve)

Grub:
Code:
GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_TIMEOUT=5
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR="Proxmox Virtual Environment"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet amd_iommu=on iommu=on video=efifb=off, vesafb=off pcie_acs_override=downstream pci=noaer"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="root=ZFS=rpool/ROOT/pve-1 boot=zfs"

VM config:
Code:
bios: ovmf
boot: dc
bootdisk: sata0
cores: 8
cpu: host,hidden=1,flags=+pcid
efidisk0: local-zfs:vm-101-disk-1,size=128K
hostpci0: 42:00,pcie=1,romfile=gigabyteGTX1080Ti.rom,x-vga=on
ide2: local:iso/virtio-win-0.1.171.iso,media=cdrom,size=363020K
machine: pc-q35-3.1
memory: 15258
name: VM1
net0: e1000=92:52:A8:9E:48:FB,bridge=vmbr1,firewall=1
numa: 1
ostype: win10
sata0: local-zfs:vm-101-disk-0,size=100G
sata1: local-userFiles:vm-101-disk-0,size=2000G
scsi2: local-zfs:vm-101-disk-2,size=10G
scsihw: virtio-scsi-single
smbios1: uuid=f5f3a9d6-e83e-4438-a7ff-32479c6813f5

Please let me know if there is anything else I can provide to clarify how I have my system set up. I have all the current Nvidia Drivers installed and Windows is fully updated.

Last edited by a moderator: