Freenas?

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by Bobbbb, Jan 11, 2019.

  1. Bobbbb

    Bobbbb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!

    I tried to install FreeNAS with passthough hard drives, and it was working fine...for a while.

    now i get disk errors, and pool degraded messages.
    I was advised i need to do a PCI passthough and not disk....but this complicates my life a bit.

    i also saw someone mention i need to set the drive as writeback?

    if someone can give me any tips, that will be highly appreciated .
     
  2. Bobbbb

    Bobbbb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    so i tried pci passthrough....stupid question.....can i do pci passthough if my CPU doesn't support VT-d?

    my XEON cpu has been stuck in customs for a few month now :-(
     
  3. Gaston Senac

    Gaston Senac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did mine following this video in Youtube: Qumdkf3etGU
    It's a disk passthrough and it's working fine. The only thing that doesn't work is SMART from inside FreeNAS, but you could do it from Proxmox.
    My server has normal SATA controller, not RAID. This is very important!!!
    What motherboard/server are you using and where are the HDD plug into?
     
  4. Bobbbb

    Bobbbb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an HP mictoserver GEN 8...
    It is connected to a raid controller but it's not configured as raid
     
  5. Gaston Senac

    Gaston Senac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    mmm there are a lot of info on the internet (FreeNAS, OpenZFS, etc) about not connecting to a RAID controller.
    They say if you manage to get it to work in "IT" mode, sometimes requires a firmware upload, or maybe JBOD.
    One thing you could try is to backup your FreeNAS config, boot with a USB stick (with FreeNAS) and restore the backup to see if you get the ZFS pool active and test if you get the same problems.
    This way the FreeNAS would be running on bare-metal, but still using you RAID controller.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice