FreeNAS iSCSI LVM recover image

Guy

Renowned Member
Jan 15, 2009
m0guy.com
I've been using proxmox and FreeNAS for many years with NFS shares. Recently I've started moving over to using an iSCSI LVM storage. This seems much faster for the disk io inside the VM.

On FreeNAS I'm taking snapshots of the pool regularly. Now for my issue..

One of the VMs messed up its disk. No problem I have snapshots on the FreeNAS but... How do I restore the VM disk image from the snapshot on FreeNAS.

All the VMs are inside an LVM which is it's self contained in a 2Tb file on the Freenas. I've mounted the snapshot in Freenas so I can see the file, but how do I copy the single VM RAW partition from this file back over to the production vmpool?

Exposing the snapshot LUN to Proxmox causes conflict issues as it has the same UUID as the production one so it seems to be ignored.

Any suggestions guidance would be great.. I've been searching the internet but so far not turn up much I can use.

I've been using proxmox and FreeNAS for many years with NFS shares. Recently I've started moving over to using an iSCSI LVM storage. This seems much faster for the disk io inside the VM.

On FreeNAS I'm taking snapshots of the pool regularly. Now for my issue..

One of the VMs messed up its disk. No problem I have snapshots on the FreeNAS but... How do I restore the VM disk image from the snapshot on FreeNAS.

All the VMs are inside an LVM which is it's self contained in a 2Tb file on the Freenas. I've mounted the snapshot in Freenas so I can see the file, but how do I copy the single VM RAW partition from this file back over to the production vmpool?

Exposing the snapshot LUN to Proxmox causes conflict issues as it has the same UUID as the production one so it seems to be ignored.

Any suggestions guidance would be great.. I've been searching the internet but so far not turn up much I can use.