[SOLVED] First Installation, cannot connect via web browser

SEANAP

Nov 28, 2016
Hello,

This is my first time using Proxmox 4.3 (and linux for that matter) and I am having difficulty connecting to the server at https://10.0.0.14:8006/ , I am using Chrome on a windows PC on the same network and it gives me the err_connection_refused. I can ping Proxmox from my windows pc just fine.

This is being installed on a Intel S2600CP2, dual Xeon E5-2670, that has a 160GB HDD plugged into the onboard SATA. I used a usb drive to install proxmox to the HDD. I am able to boot into proxmox but when it tells me to use https://10.0.0.14:8006 to configure, I can't get that to work.

When installing Proxmox, I logged into my router and saw the server at 10.0.0.14, so that is the IP I configured during proxmox installation (is that what I am supposed to do, or should I give it a unique ip?). Also, it was asking for a hostname, which I put as pve.mydomain.net, but I don't have AD DC set up, do I need to have a domain?

I have forwarded the port 8006 on my router, and added inbound and outbound windows firewall rules for port 8006. I have cleared my browser cache and cookies, and tried IE, but nothing has worked.

I have noticed some permissions issues and I have set permissions to 777 for /var/log/daemon.log and /var/log/pveproxy/access.log I also noticed that /ect/hosts access was denied, so I gave that permission too and after that I was able to open that up and see the 10.0.0.14 ip

This could very well be a SSL issue as well. I have never used SSL before (apart from going to https websites) so I'm not too sure how to troubleshoot if this is an issue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I can provide any outputs if you need to see something in more depth.

Last edited: