Firewall crap !

AxelTwin

Oct 10, 2017
I would like to know other customers opinion:

I am an IT senior consultant, been using proxmox tools for almost 10 years, administrating linux systems and all types of firewalls for the same duration.
I love proxmox, made many companies I ve been working for to switch to proxmox PVE/PBS/PMG and I spread the world about how much these tools are great.
But honestly, I find the firewall gui awfull !
It is the opposite of user friendly, allowing making mistake so easily !
I can't count how many times I lost remote hands on my system or how many times I realised there was security holes in my setup.

I am very interested to know what other people think about it

Last edited:
Honestly, im not using the Firewall.
Either im using iptables inside the Containers/VM's or Opensense/PFsense in front.

But in my personal opinion, i don't see the Proxmox Firewall any usefull, i mean i dont see generally a need for, like even if it would be perfect i wouldn't use it.
Esxi and other solutions doesn't even have a Firewall, or at least nothing that i would use anyway.

I wouldn't expose the Hypervisor node to the Public internet anyway, no matter if its Proxmox/Esxi/Nutanix/Hyper-V or anything else.
If you need a firewall, passthrough your NIC to your Opnsense/PFsense VM and you're good.

Otherwise it's already perfect, i mean i dont see any benefit, why the Proxmox team should put more time into that Firewall, they can put their time into the Proxmox Core instead, which is a better use of.
The firewall cannot be perfect, i mean it's basically iptables for now and if it gets better, it wont be enough anyway, people will then ask for dynamic rules which open ports only if needed, or sth like ids/ips/surricata etc...
And that will get very fast very complicated.
For such tasks there is Opnsense/Pfsense or any other sort of firewall.

And anyway, Proxmox is very open, its basically a debian, so you can do whatever you want yourself.