File '/boot/grub/i386-pc/normal.mod' not found : installation on HP Proliant DL360p g8

mas

Oct 27, 2023
Hi there,
I'm new to Proxmox but not to linux. Time ago I bought an HP Proliant DL360p g8 and now I'm trying to install Proxmox. Possibly the capabilities of such machine can be over my knowledge.
I managed to install Windows with a little of trouble but succesfull on a SSD 480gb

Now as testing and before to reset the SSD I'm trying to install new systems on 2 HDD 4TB. It is a temp installation because I'd like to use this HDD for a NAS.

My installation process is using an USB dongle as per any standard pc/laptops

The installation proces takes ages so far at the first attempts I though there was something wrong. With a little research and patience I understood it was normal situation and I managed to install it on the partitioned HDD. My installation was done on the first partition of 480GB keeping the default settings during installation.

After several hours (I think about 6hrs) the installation ended. I did not restart the machine right away.

At the first start of the machine (without USB Dongle, I assume it is not needed as usual) the process halt at grub with the error
File '/boot/grub/i386-pc/normal.mod' not found

Considering the amount of hours required for installation (it is normal first of all) I hope to be able to fix it.

Does anyone have some hints?

Is there any SW setting of the machine itself I should verify prior installtion? This machine has the HPE management suits to tune the machine settings beside the OS installation.

Thanks a lot for your support. The greater frustration is the installation time which not allow many random tries before getting the right one

Cheers

[Partial solution]
I played with the hdd managemet feature from HP setting the first partition as bootable. Now the system boots but can't access the online address. If I log as root at the cli, system doesn't show the prompt to digit any command...]

Last edited: