Export/Import VM into Proxmox

m4rk

Nov 14, 2019
Hi all,

Thanks in advance for your support.

I'm starting using Proxmox few days ago so I have little knowledge about it
I configured a virtual machine with O.S. and all settings I need and now I would need to export it creating a template (or backup) to use on other Proxmox environment.

I tried using "backup" and it created a vmname.vma.gz file.
When I tried to upload this file into another Proxmox console, it shown an error saying that the file extension was not correct (only tar.gz allowed).

So I created a vmname.vma.tar.gz file and I uploaded it using "Container Template" as "Content" souce (see image attached).
In this way it finished correctly but then I wasn't able to click "Restore" (grey button).

All works properly using the SSH console but I would like to find a easy way to export and import vm images in different Proxmox environment (also using different versions).

Could you help me please?

Thank you very much,

Marco

Attachments

• Proxmox_upload.PNG
    Proxmox_upload.PNG
    8.9 KB · Views: 132
Hi.
You install and configure VM with OS and you want to use this VM on another Proxmox server ?
if yes, you can backup this VM on Share and mount this share another Proxmox server and restore this VM.

Hello,

Thanks for your answer.

Yes, I would like to backup a VM, export the backup, import the backup to another Proxmox environment and create the vm using that backup. All this using only the web console (not SSH one).

Thanks a lot

Marco

How i can!
I have share directory(NFS Share) for backup all VM.
Connect this share folder via web interface all server proxmox. Datacenter - Storage - Add NFS and connect.
And touch NFS directory, choose backup VM (which is needed) and click Restore
Look my screen
Sorry my eng, I try to lern

2019-11-14_15-50-08.png

Hi,

Thanks for your excellent explanation but I need to export the backup and then provide it to different Customers so I can't use share folder.