Expand pool

Alessandro 123

May 22, 2016
Hi.
I have to add 4 new SSDs disks to an existing RAIDZ2 pool.

I'm not an ZFS expert and I don't want to loose/reduce redundancy making mistakes.

Is this the right command to use ?

Code:
# zpool add -n rpool raidz2 pci-0000:03:00.0-sas-phy4-lun-0 pci-0000:03:00.0-sas-phy5-lun-0 pci-0000:03:00.0-sas-phy6-lun-0 pci-0000:03:00.0-sas-phy7-lun-0
would update 'rpool' to the following configuration:
    rpool
      raidz2
        pci-0000:03:00.0-sas-phy0-lun-0-part2
        pci-0000:03:00.0-sas-phy1-lun-0-part2
        pci-0000:03:00.0-sas-phy2-lun-0-part2
        pci-0000:03:00.0-sas-phy3-lun-0-part2
      raidz2
        pci-0000:03:00.0-sas-phy4-lun-0
        pci-0000:03:00.0-sas-phy5-lun-0
        pci-0000:03:00.0-sas-phy6-lun-0
        pci-0000:03:00.0-sas-phy7-lun-0

Looks good to me.
Any additional operation to do in PVE or the new size is automatically detected ?

I don't think it will work with just the pci-0000:03:00.0-sas-phy4-lun-0 but will probably need the full path such as /dev/disk/by-..../disk.

On a quick note for the future (as you probably don't want to re setup that node): If you use a RAIDz2 with 4 disks you might as well set it up as a pool of mirror VDEVs to get a pool resembling RAID10.

Why? Mainly for performance. See, any RAIDz will behave like a single disk regarding IOPS with lots of bandwidth.

A mirror VDEV will behave like 1 disk (IOPS, bandwidth) when writing, but when reading it will behave like the number of disks in the mirror vdev (most times 2 disks) in both, IOPS and bandwidth.

Thus, when comparing a raidz2 with 4 disks to two mirror vdevs, you will get double the IOPS when writing and 4 times the IOPS when reading. And IOPS is usually what you want if you have VMs on that storage.