error fetching datastore: No route to host

uzair

Apr 30, 2024
Hello,

I am new to the proxmox ve setup and facing an issue with the connection of the proxmox backup server datastore with one of my nodes. I have 3 nodes out of which 1 node is working fine and I am able to backup vms on the proxmox backup server but not on the other two. Below is an error which I am encountering. Your timely support will be highly appreciated. Thanks.

error fetching datastores - 500 Can't connect to [fd00:dc:ce:192:168:90::15]:8007 (No route to host) (500)

Your LAN is IPv6 only? Or are you mixing IPv4 and IPv6? Even in 2024 I still have problems with mixing this; and "IPv4 only" is just more handy at home.

Search for "linux debian disable ipv6 permanently", there are settings in /etc/sysctl.d to be created if you want this.

And make sure the name resolution is consistent and identical on all devices.

Yes we are mixing both, so should i change the settings to ipv4 only for the 2 nodes that aren't working?

Also, just to clear that this issue I'm facing is in my office production network and not in a lab environment or home setup. The suggested ipv6 disabling settings would make it work ? Thank you for your response.

Yes we are mixing both, so should i change the settings to ipv4 only for the 2 nodes that aren't working?
Also, just to clear that this issue I'm facing is in my office production network and not in a lab environment or home setup. The suggested ipv6 disabling settings would make it work ? Thank you for your response.
No! If you are actually using IPv6 you should not disable it ;-)

My answer was based on the assumption that most people just use IPv4 in a homelab, which is just easier in regard to some (not all) aspects.

I am only using IPv4 for this reason - and so I can not really help with IPv6, sorry.

Thank you for your time. Really appreciate it.

Hopefully if some expert from the community could help then it will be great.

About