"Download from URL" Error: invalid server response: '500 Can't connect to releases.ubuntu.com:443 (Temporary failure in name resolution)' (500)

freedoN

Jun 3, 2022
I am new to PVE and these more advanced networking concepts.
How do I tell if the problem is on my end or on Ubuntu's end?

GUI... > ISO Images > Download from URL

Error
invalid server response: '500 Can't connect to releases.ubuntu.com:443 (Temporary failure in name resolution)' (500)

copying and pasting this link
https://releases.ubuntu.com/22.04/ubuntu-22.04-live-server-amd64.iso
from this page
https://ubuntu.com/download/server
into the "Download from URL" URL: field and clicking the button Query URL

Last edited:
It complains about DNS resolution. What DNS server did you setup on your PVE host? Should be either your router or a public DNS server like 1.1.1.1.

Your output of cat /etc/network/interfaces and cat /etc/resolv.conf would be helpful.

Last edited:
Reactions: freedoN
It complains about DNS resolution. What DNS server did you setup on your PVE host? Should be either your router or a public DNS server like 1.1.1.1.

Your output of cat /etc/network/interfaces and cat /etc/resolv.conf would be helpful.
IMG-1338.jpg

And 192.168.1.30 is your routers IP?

You can also run dig to test your DNS resolution and ping to test your routing.

For example dig releases.ubuntu.com or ping 91.189.91.124 (one of the IPs of releases.ubuntu.com).

Last edited:
It is the number within my routers range that I gave to Gateway and DNS server in network settings during installation
PVE network settings.png

I cannot reach google 8.8.8.8 with ping so my problem is not getting onto the internet. (verified the physical computer is connected to the internet)
IMG-1340.jpg