[SOLVED] Disk filling up with log files

oystein

Mar 12, 2021
Drammen, Norway
Hi,

I'm a total newbie to proxmox, with not too much experience in linux either, but I'm able to manage a little bit due to haveing worked on unix based systems ages ago.

My problem is that I installed the same setup a week ago, and the system ran out of space after a week or so, and after reinstalling yesterday it seems to be filling up again.

The installation is on an 5 year od Lenove laptop with a SSD drive with about 250Gig space.

I did the proxmox installation following the instructions at: https://www.juanmtech.com/install-proxmox-and-virtualize-home-assistant/

And Home Assistant OS installed as a VM with the help of an automated script created by "whiskers", found at https://github.com/whiskerz007/proxmox_hassos_install
(from a video by Dr Zzs found at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAHKftNVTco

The home assistant VM is set up with 32 Gig.
The local node is currently on about 11 Gig while the local-lvm is at 3.44 Gigs.
After installing yesterday local was much smaller (around 2.5 i Believe).

When looking in the syslog panel there are loads of messages like:
systemd-logind[572]: Failed to execute operation: Permission denied
Seems to be about 510 each second.

Every now and then it's broken by first 1-2 seconds of of message like:
systemd-logind[572]: Unit suspend.target is masked, refusing operation.
systemd-logind[572]: Suspending...

and then 8 more seconds of
systemd-logind[572]: Suspending...
systemd-logind[572]: Unit suspend.target is masked, refusing operation.

The problem is that I have no idea how to proceed to solve this.
I've also looked in the /var/log/ directory and it seems like there are some logfiles that are filling up.
auth.log is currently at 6.5 Gig
lastlog is 18 Meg and
syslog is 532 K

I suspect that this will climb until the disk is full and then I get no response again.