Disk Cache wiki documentation

IsThisThingOn

Nov 26, 2021
Hi everyone

I was reading through the wiki
https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Performance_Tweaks#Disk_Cache
have some questions and maybe even suggestions for improvement. Sometimes it also contradicts the points from the article it references to.

I'm no expert by any means and not a native speaker, so please don't take these suggestions as an insult. I could be very wrong on some basic understandings :)
Because it is a complex topic, I like to number the different points.

1. Maybe start with an exclaimer that for a secure writeback you need the barrier-passing feature. That feature is enabled by default on ext4
2. Do NTFS or ZFS guests also support write barriers by default?
3. The wiki says this only applies to RAW, but I was unable to find good documentation how these caching modes behave for qcow2. Anyone has some inputs?
4. The table is a little bit confusing to newcomers. I think simpler to understand by splitting up the Host Page Cache into read and write and what data can be lost in a power failure. Also I would replace "power loss" with "unexpected shutdown" because that covers more incidents than can happen.
5. Rename the mode "none" to "no cache" or "Default (no cache)", because that is how the GUI shows it
6. The description for cache=none says: "Because the actual storage device may report a write as completed when placed in its write queue only". For what device is that true? Are we talking about the drive firmware lying? I had this discussion in a TrueNAS forum, where I asked how we can trust HDDs to not have writes in a queue and the general consent was that there is no drive lying about having writes written while they are still in cache no matter if SSD or HDD. Otherwise the outrage would be even bigger than the SMR fiasko from WD. That is why I would ditch the "in case of power failure you can lose data"