Differences in networking setup between v4 & v5?

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Networking and Firewall' started by ejmerkel, Jul 11, 2018.

  1. ejmerkel

    ejmerkel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    We've been installing Proxmox V4 nodes with redundant Juniper EX4550 switches in a stacked configuration for some time with no issues at all. We generally setup each host as follows:

    bond0 (OVS Bond (vmbr1) - eth0 & eth1) - various VLAN's used for VM's public network access
    bond1 (Linux Bond - eth2 & eth3 - LACP) - Managment network, clustering, etc
    bond2 (Linix Bond - eth4 & eth5 - LACP) - Storage Network

    We recently configured some new Proxmox v5 nodes in the same network configuration but I cannot get the either the control (bond1) or storage network (bond2) to come up and be pingable. Our switch technicians swears that the ports are configured the same as the V4 nodes but they still don't work. If I plug my laptop directly into the either bond port on the servers, I can ping the IP addresses.

    Is there any difference between v4 & v5 that I might be missing that would cause the links not to come up?

    Here are the proxmox packages.

    proxmox-ve: 5.2-2 (running kernel: 4.15.17-2-pve)
    pve-manager: 5.2-1 (running version: 5.2-1/0fcd7879)
    pve-kernel-4.15: 5.2-2
    pve-kernel-4.15.17-2-pve: 4.15.17-10
    pve-kernel-4.15.17-1-pve: 4.15.17-9
    corosync: 2.4.2-pve5
    criu: 2.11.1-1~bpo90
    glusterfs-client: 3.8.8-1
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.2-2
    libjs-extjs: 6.0.1-2
    libpve-access-control: 5.0-8
    libpve-apiclient-perl: 2.0-4
    libpve-common-perl: 5.0-32
    libpve-guest-common-perl: 2.0-16
    libpve-http-server-perl: 2.0-9
    libpve-storage-perl: 5.0-23
    libqb0: 1.0.1-1
    lvm2: 2.02.168-pve6
    lxc-pve: 3.0.0-3
    lxcfs: 3.0.0-1
    novnc-pve: 0.6-4
    openvswitch-switch: 2.7.0-2
    proxmox-widget-toolkit: 1.0-18
    pve-cluster: 5.0-27
    pve-container: 2.0-23
    pve-docs: 5.2-4
    pve-firewall: 3.0-9
    pve-firmware: 2.0-4
    pve-ha-manager: 2.0-5
    pve-i18n: 1.0-5
    pve-libspice-server1: 0.12.8-3
    pve-qemu-kvm: 2.11.1-5

    Unfortunately, I only have remote console via IDRAC so can't copy network config easily in this post, but here are links to 2 screen captures of the /etc/network/interfaces.

    https://prntscr.com/k5aysn
    https://prntscr.com/k5aynv

    Note: vmbr0 is not being used in this configuration.

    Any ideas on how to trouble shoot this from the proxmox side?

    Thanks,
    Eric
     
  2. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,560
    Likes Received:
    209
    Hi,

    the ovs version is another one.
    Why do you use ovs? You have a simple setup and can easily use Linux bridge model.
     
  3. ejmerkel

    ejmerkel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have always used OVS in the past for our customer VLAN's but the problem I am having is on the Linux bonds. Do I have the wrong version of OVS installed? Could that be what is causing the the Linux bonds not to work?

    Best regards,
    Eric
     
  4. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,560
    Likes Received:
    209
    The ovs package seems to be correct.
    What nics do you use? The kernel do you use is known for an Intel igb bug.
    This is fixed in pve-kernel-4.15.17-3-pve: 4 .15.17-14
     
  5. ejmerkel

    ejmerkel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using 1G igb interfaces but does this also affect the 10G interfaces as well? Here is a screen print of my interfaces http://prntscr.com/k5la6i

    Best regards,
    Eric
     
  6. ejmerkel

    ejmerkel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried rebooting to an older kernel to see if the network interface comes up but they don't. I am seeing the following error message on the bond interfaces. Could this be a clue to the issue?

    http://prntscr.com/k5nffs
    http://prntscr.com/k5ng5v
     
  7. ejmerkel

    ejmerkel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've upgraded to 4.15.17-3-pve #1 SMP PVE 4.15.17-4 kernel dated June 27th and rebooted... still no luck on the bonding.

    cat /proc/net/bonding/bond2 shows the bond and slaves being up but can't ping so so any ideas how to trouble shoot further on the proxmox side?

    Best regards,
    Eric
     
  8. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,560
    Likes Received:
    209
    If you use OVS switch you should use OVS Bonds and not Linux bonds.
    You are mixing two technologies what never be tested to work together.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice