/dev/mapper/pve-root is full

Tittan

Sep 27, 2021
Hello to all,

I'm new to Proxmox. That said, I have a 3-node Ceph cluster that is saying one of the hosts is out of the quorum because lack of file system space.

All the 3 nodes are installed in 3 USB 32GB Pens.

As far as I can understand, I guess that the folder that is full is /var/log/... but I don't really know if I can and what I can safely delete here?

And after the filesystem gets space again, how I can prevent this from happening again? It is not supposed to log do a regular rotation?

Thanks to all for reading this, any help would be very appreciated.

Attachments

• Captura de ecrã 2022-08-31 095345.jpg
    Captura de ecrã 2022-08-31 095345.jpg
    251.9 KB · Views: 17
  • Captura de ecrã 2022-08-31 100738.jpg
    Captura de ecrã 2022-08-31 100738.jpg
    118.6 KB · Views: 16
All the 3 nodes are installed in 3 USB 32GB Pens.
Don`t do that. PVE writes a lot (many GBs per day) and will kill those Pen drives in no time. Only use SSDs or HDDs that can handle these writes.
As far as I can understand, I guess that the folder that is full is /var/log/... but I don't really know if I can and what I can safely delete here?
Everything ending with a ".1", ".2", ".3" or ".gz" can be deleted without a problem.
And after the filesystem gets space again, how I can prevent this from happening again? It is not supposed to log do a regular rotation?
Its already rotating. You might want to change log rotation settings so it keeps less logs: https://docs.ceph.com/en/latest/rados/troubleshooting/log-and-debug/
And did you read all your logs? When logs are writing GBs of data the problem usually isn`t that your log rotation isn'T working, but there is a problem which spams the logs. So you shouldn`t ignore those logs but find the problem and fix it.

Reactions: Neobin and Tittan

About