Dell Poweredge R710

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by dragonslayr, May 10, 2019.

  1. dragonslayr

    dragonslayr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just ordered this server with 128g ram. Got in a bit of a hurry and now notice you can not put the H700 raid in IT mode for pass-though so I can use ZFS.
    Anyone know of a fix for this? Or recommend a replacement card I can use?

    Note: Will have 6 sata drives.
     
  2. bleakczar

    bleakczar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    IT mode is not possible with that RAID controller; I have a PowerEdge server with an H700. Try searching eBay for a Dell H200 6Gbps SAS HBA LSI 9210-8i.
     
  3. Pakkeay

    Pakkeay New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well.
     
  4. dragonslayr

    dragonslayr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    I will do so. Thank You!
     
  5. dragonslayr

    dragonslayr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    I ordered a 9211-81 from ebay with cables for 60.00. Seems to work just great at first load so far.
    Also, I did not need the cables as the cables for the h700 worked just fine.
    Lovely.... Thanks for the help. Just wanted to make sure and give some feedback...

    Ooops, forgot to ad, was already preped for IT mode.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice