Customize SPAM notification emails

Ladavin

Oct 7, 2019
I am new to Proxmox and wanted to know if there is a way to edit the notification email that users receive? What I would like to be able to do is send the email from any blocked email once each hour during business hours. and then be able to also add a logo or edit the HTML code is possible. I have tried digging into the interwebs and cannot find anything that really tells me where to go.

Hi,

yes you can customize that in full. The default templates for that mail are located in /var/lib/pmg/templates/, normally you can chose between the presets verbose (the default) and short, this can changed in the Webinterface under Spam Detector → Quarantine → User Spamreport Style.

There you see that you can also set the report-style to "custom", this searches then for a (by default not existing) template named spamreport-custom.tt, the search is first done in the /etc/pmg/templates directory then the /var/lib/pmg/templates/ one. So for starting our I'd probably copy over the verbose one into /etc (which does not gets overwritten on package upgrades):
Code:
mkdir /etc/pmg/templates
cp /var/lib/pmg/templates/spamreport-verbose.tt /etc/pmg/templates/spamreport-custom.tt

Play around with that and set the report style to custom.

What I would like to be able to do is send the email from any blocked email once each hour during business hours.

The service which sends this mail out, if there's anything to sent is the pmgreport.service and the timer who triggers it is then respectively
Code:
systemctl status pmgreport.service
systemctl cat pmgreport.service

You could just copy and adapt that to trigger hourly between certain hours, but the pmgreport tool only accepts "today" and "yesterday" as specific timespans, so it would always include all mails if you did so.

If you do not care about that then I can give a shot in making a short how-to..

Reactions: ddangel0
I can give a shot in making a short how-to.