Controlling outbound spam

AllCore James

Dec 20, 2018
Hello, I am new to PMG, and have recently switched from a 3rd party product... so far, we are very pleased with the change... but we are having a few issues understanding how PMG thinks / does things...

when we check the stastistics >> Domain >> Outgoing reports, one of the largest domain (receiver) is listed as --- Empty Address ---

From our experience with our old product, this would be a big indication of SPAM...

1. Am I correct in reading this report as outgoing spam from our servers through PMG ?
2. IF I am correct, how do we prevent PMG from allowing this to go out to the internet ?

Just analyse your email logs via the message tracking center and you will see the details about these messages.

i delete postfix queue ... 89888 mail !!!
and finaly go to track center .... how proxmox gateway can send mail when there is not sender ??????

Mails with empty senders are also called bounces/NDR/....
They are regularly used from mailservers to inform users that something did not work (e.g. that a remote mailbox did not exist or is over quota, or that a mail did not yet get delivered but is still queued)

If your PMG installation got hijacked and was used for spamming I would guess that also many of those bounce mails got generated by PMG (to inform the fake senders that a mail was rejected)

If a mailbox that was relayed over PMG got hijacked the same could happen.

Cleaning the mailq if you have tons of spam-mails in your system sounds like a good idea.

Mails with empty senders are also called bounces/NDR/....
They are regularly used from mailservers to inform users that something did not work (e.g. that a remote mailbox did not exist or is over quota, or that a mail did not yet get delivered but is still queued)

If your PMG installation got hijacked and was used for spamming I would guess that also many of those bounce mails got generated by PMG (to inform the fake senders that a mail was rejected)