Container of Node has no internet

ciarandwi

Aug 22, 2024
Please note: I'm a complete beginner when it comes to networking. Im a frontend/backend dev, not a network engineer so all this is very confusing to myself

As the subject says, we have a container that has no internet, pinging anything results in 100% packet loss.

Approximately a month ago, all of our interfaces went down and had to do reinstate every single one of them back up which was done with some help of a senior (somebody who knows what they're doing) however, we forgot to test one of the containers to see if it had internet, we just checked to see if the website was back up and running.

I've now tried to deploy and failed on trying to pull the code from git which would be expected when your container has no internet.

I'm just trying to figure out how I can rectify this so the container has a internet connection.

I think we've configured like this, Node has internet via a bridge called vmbr1. Bridge is connected from the node to container.
Code:
ip a
7: vmbr1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether ac: xx:xx:xx:xx:8b brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.2/20 scope global vmbr1
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 xxxx::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xx8b/64 scope link

(I can ping google.com from here)

Container has 2 connections, one is a lo and an eth0 connection from the looks

Code:
ip a
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
31: eth0@if32: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:48 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff link-netnsid 0
    inet 192.168.0.189/24 brd 192.168.0.255 scope global eth0
    inet6 xxxx::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:e048/64 scope link

Here's the /etc/network/interfaces