Considering moving from ESXi to ProxMox

axel2078

Oct 15, 2021
Hello. I'm currently running an ESXi 7 home lab system and I'm contemplating replacing it with ProxMox. I am a ProxMox noob though. For my ESXi system, the boot drive is a USB flash drive, which works well, but from what I've been reading, that will NOT work so well with ProxMox. I have two 1 TB hard drives (not SSD) in that system, and 32 GB memory. What's the best way to install ProxMox and maximize my 2 hard drives? I watched a video online where someone said that you can't utilize local storage from the same hard drive that ProxMox is installed on. I'd hate to waste a 1 TB drive if that's true. Can someone tell me the best way to do this? Thanks.

Last edited:
Hello. I'm currently running an ESXi 7 home lab system and I'm contemplating replacing it with ProxMox. I am a ProxMox noob though. For my ESXi system, the boot drive is a USB flash drive, which works well, but from what I've been reading, that will NOT work so well with ProxMox. I have two 1 TB hard drives (not SSD) in that system, and 32 GB memory. What's the best way to install ProxMox and maximize my 2 hard drives? I watched a video online where someone said that you can't utilize local storage from the same hard drive that ProxMox is installed on. I'd hate to waste a 1 TB drive if that's true. Can someone tell me the best way to do this? Thanks.

Thats not true. You can use the storage where your proxmox os is put also for vms. thats also the default after installing proxmox. You can use a zfs mirror for your 2x1TB to get 1TB net storage.

And yes, you shouldn't install PVE to a USB-Stick/SD-Card because PVE will write about 30GB per day and that would kill flash storages without wear leveling quite fast. But using a USB-SSD for example would work.

Reactions: axel2078