Can't exec proxmox-usb-hotplug in a vm hookscript

scarlaxx

Mar 15, 2021
Hi. After having issues with usb passthough to a VM a was searching forums for a solution and ended up with proxmox-usb-hotplug. I followed the installation and now I'm able to manually run it from proxmox shell with
Bash:
proxmox-usb-hotplug --vmid $vmid -c /etc/usb-hotplug.conf -p $pwd

Next I created a hookscript in /var/lib/vz/snippets/usbhotplug.pl and added this script to my VM.

Now when VM is starting I get: Can't exec "proxmox-usb-hotplug": No such file or directory at /var/lib/vz/snippets/usbhotplug.pl line 41.

There is a part about installing it as a service which I don't understand, I'm a linux beginner. I suppose I miss some bit so that the hookscript cannot access the installed npm package to run it or maybe some permissions are missing.

Attachments

• usbhotplug.pl.txt
    1.3 KB · Views: 8
Next I created a hookscript in /var/lib/vz/snippets/usbhotplug.pl and added this script to my VM.

Now when VM is starting I get: Can't exec "proxmox-usb-hotplug": No such file or directory at /var/lib/vz/snippets/usbhotplug.pl line 41.
It probably does not have execute permissions set. Check if you see x's in ls -l /var/lib/vz/snippets/usbhotplug.pl
This can be fixed with chmod +x /var/lib/vz/snippets/usbhotplug.pl

Note that if you don't know the programming language Perl, you can also use Bash scripts or other executable scripting languages. It took me some time to realize this.

It probably does not have execute permissions set. Check if you see x's in ls -l /var/lib/vz/snippets/usbhotplug.pl
This can be fixed with chmod +x /var/lib/vz/snippets/usbhotplug.pl

Note that if you don't know the programming language Perl, you can also use Bash scripts or other executable scripting languages. It took me some time to realize this.