Cannot upload ISO or VM to NFS share

thinkdez

Aug 16, 2023
So I am new to proxmox ve but have worked in VMWare for the last 10 years. I just setup a new 3 node cluster to play with and mounted an NFS share no problem. My issue is when I try to move a VM or upload a ISO to the NFS share the host I am stops communicating with the NFS Server then locks up and I have to hard reboot the node to get access back. It locks up almost as soon as it starts the copy. I tried setting up a SMB share as well and I get the same experieince.

My Journal shows the following:
NFS Share:
Code:
Aug 16 16:37:41 pve02 pvedaemon[906]: <root@pam> starting task UPID:pve02:00000972:0000E589:64DD3395:imgcopy::root@pam:
Aug 16 16:38:49 pve02 pvestatd[881]: unable to activate storage 'VirtualMachines' - directory '/mnt/pve/VirtualMachines' does not exist or is unreachable
Aug 16 16:38:59 pve02 pvestatd[881]: unable to activate storage 'VirtualMachines' - directory '/mnt/pve/VirtualMachines' does not exist or is unreachable
Aug 16 16:39:09 pve02 pvescheduler[2622]: jobs: cfs-lock 'file-jobs_cfg' error: got lock request timeout

SMB Share:
Code:
Aug 16 16:26:30 pve02 kernel: CIFS: VFS: reconnect tcon failed rc = -2
Aug 16 16:26:32 pve02 kernel: CIFS: VFS: \\10.1.100.20\VirtualMachines BAD_NETWORK_NAME: \\10.1.100.20\VirtualMachines

The interesting part is that when I went into the shell and created a new file on the NFS share it had no issue. But when I tried to do a cp command it would lock up.

The permissions are good as I can create new files from the shell but the upload and cp commands lock it up and disconnect the share.

Any guidance on what I am missing would be appreciated.

Thanks

Last edited: