Can I give a VM control of a NIC without IOMMU?

jerrac

May 24, 2020
Hey All,

So, I have a really good idea, but it's looking like I might stymied until I get better hardware. Before I give up, I thought I'd ask for some help.

My idea is to make a Home Server and Firewall out of old pc parts. Specifically I'm trying this on hardware from an old Gateway tower. I've been using it as an Opnsense firewall for a few years now, but I want to do a bit more than that. Using Proxmox as host seems like a good way to open up more options.

The first part of my idea is a firewall VM (Opnsense, PFSense, ipfire, other) that controls my two Intel PCIE NICs. Then my cable modem would be plugged into one NIC, the other NIC would be for the LAN, and the NIC integrated into the motherboard would be for Proxmox to get on the LAN.

I initially thought I'd use passthrough to give the NICs to the firewall vm. So I followed the PCI Passthrough docs. I updated grub, updated /etc/modules, and add the unsafe interrupts setting.

This is my output from the commands that should tell me IOMMU isolation works.

Code:
root@vabbi:~# dmesg | grep -e DMAR -e IOMMU
[    0.096718] DMAR: IOMMU enabled
root@vabbi:~# dmesg | grep 'remapping'
root@vabbi:~# find /sys/kernel/iommu_groups/ -type l
root@vabbi:~#

The lack of output means IOMMU isolation is not working. Correct?

I'm very sure the reason is that my hardware very likely does not support it. This is a Intel® Core™ i3-2120 Processor on an Acer ipisb-vr rev 1.01 motherboard.

Before I give up, is there another way to make sure the firewall vm is the only one communicating with the world through my cable modem? Maybe something to do with setting up routes or iptable rules?