Bond vs Bridge

Noern

Jan 24, 2023
Hi guys,

im fairly new to proxmox and I'm not quite sure if I understand the difference between a bond and a bridge.

Is a bridge only used to access the world outside the proxmox host?
What is the difference between those three configs:

1: bridge with enp1, enp2 and ip 192.168.100.20

2: bond0 with enp1, enp2 (active-backup)
bridge with bond0 and ip 192.168.100.20

3: bond0 with enp1, enp2 and ip 192.168.100.20
I noticed that with this config (no bridge configured) I can't access the web interface of proxmox on 192.168.100.20

Thanks for your help!

Hi guys,

im fairly new to proxmox and I'm not quite sure if I understand the difference between a bond and a bridge.

What is the difference between those three configs:

1: bridge with enp1, enp2 and ip 192.168.100.20
A bridge will just bridge those two ports. Think of it like connecting those two NIC, both active all the time using the same IP, to the same unmanaged switch. This should usually be avoided.
2: bond0 with enp1, enp2 (active-backup)
bridge with bond0 and ip 192.168.100.20
Only one NIC will be active at a time and only the active one got that IP.
3: bond0 with enp1, enp2 and ip 192.168.100.20
I noticed that with this config (no bridge configured) I can't access the web interface of proxmox on 192.168.100.20
Similar to above but your guests can't use that bond because you got no bridge your virtual NICs could bridge to. PVE WebUI and SSH should still work. If it won't you probably used a bonding type that your switch doesn't support or isn't configured for.

So in case you don't got more NICs for guest communication option 2 would be the way to go if you want redundancy. But I would prefer LACP in case your switch supports that, so you would also get a throughput benefit in addition to the redundancy.

Last edited:
Reactions: farcry2579
Consider a vmbrX Linux Bridge similar to an unmanaged Hardware Switch.

An example:

192.168.1.1/24 Router