Best solution for shared storage

M

M@s

Hi! I just set up Proxmox and this is my first time ever with virtualization. In my machine I have two physical hard drives, partitioned as:

Disk 1:
1. Proxmox system partition
2. Storage partition for VM:s

Disk 2:
- Backup/storage disk

Now I want the content of disk 2 to be accessible from all the VM:s on this machine, without wrapping it into a virtual drive. My plan is to use it as backup for both the VM:s on disk 1 and for other content. What's the best way of doing this? Do I have to install an iSCSI/NFS share on the Proxmox server? All built in local sharing solutions I find seem to involve creating virtual drives.

A nfs or cifs share would be your best bet, especially if you want to access the files from outside the vm's

Sent from my MT27i using Tapatalk

I am also new in Proxmox world. Is anyone could explain me in detail how do I do this ? I have the same situation - one drive holds proxmox and the other I like to use as VM storage and access from the network

Masood

If i had multiple VM's sharing the same files from drive 2
1) create a KVM on Drive one.
2) install openmediavault (or any other NAS) on it.
3) pass drive 2 to said VM
4) share that drive (or its pools) via NFS protocol to all VM's running on it.
Proxmox-wiki and the NAS-wiki(s) will help

If i'd were to have multiple VM's just storing different Data (as in not the same files) on Disk 2, i would:
1) create a KVM/LXC with a small vDisk on Disk 1 (this houses OS + bootloader)
2) Create a second vDisk located on Disk2.
3) profit.

However. If only Backup is needed (ie drive 2 or external USB)
1) configure selected backup drive for Backups in Proxmox (wiki will help)
2) i'd run all VM's and content on Drive 1.
3) Use Proxmox Backup sheduler and back them (and their content) to the backup drive (then you have true backups

If i had multiple VM's sharing the same files from drive 2
1) create a KVM on Drive one.