[SOLVED] Backup strategy relying on FS

Adnan

Oct 4, 2012
Paris, France
I'm not an expert in filesystems, I know the concepts (RAID, ZFS, mounts, logic/physic, etc…).

I'm currently trying to mount a new environment for our company, during a ransomware infection and a poor backup strategy in place by former IT (user files in smb mounts, backups in the same directory in mount, all servers have each other drives mounted as smb shares, which resulted in EVERYTHING encrypted except what was locked by running programs). So I have a server at SoYouStart (Xeon D-1520 [4c/8t], 32GB RAM, 4x2TB SoftRaid) and their version on PVE 6 64Bits installed (by default in an LVM on 2 disks RAID 1), no ZFS. I can reinstall the OS without LVM and without RAID so I can manually add the 3 others disks in Soft RAID 5 for instance.

For reference, I currently have a Windows server VM (Virtio SCSI, Virtio Network, SCSI Disk) with 4cores (kvm64), 8GB RAM, 100Go qcow2 disk, and unzipping a 6GB 7z archive (un Ultra) tool 4 hours, windows was showing less than 10MBps write speed. The host had a load around 10 and iotop showed the load was used by this VM only. After that, importing a .sql file (30k lines) to MySQL in an LXC container took 3 hours to complete. It seems to be too slow, while downloading a 2GB iso from the host is pretty quick (10 sec, with a 250Mbps connection).

First of all, is ZFS absolute must have, and is it "on top" of LVM or better without? I have a 5To storage (mounted on PVE via NFS, can also be mounted via SMB) with the server, I will store regular backups of the VMs to it (once a day at least).

Also is it safe to mount a qcow2 using nbd, and rsync a directory from it while the VM is started?

I'm planning on having a "NAS" VM, which will have smb shares mounted in the Windows VM. The NAS can mount the server storage by NFS/FTP/SMB itself and export regularly (rsnapshot or rsync archive) its files to it.