backup made system flake out

sdpve

Mar 10, 2018
Hi,

I'm new to proxmox and has an issue with my first backup job.
I have proxmox 5.1. I have an OMV VM (100). I passed a hard disk to OMV. In OMV I shared folders on that hardisk over nfs. In proxmox I mounted the nfs share. I then setup a backup. I selected to backup the OMV VM 5 minutes in the future. When backup started, things got wierd with the GUI. The node and VMs had "?" on them. The backup said it was going on. I checked the status and it mentioned the hard disk I passed to OMV. I started wondering if it was trying to backup the disk I passed to OMV to the disk I passed to OMV (recursion). I wasn't sure so I tried to stop the backup on the GUI and that didn't work. I then tried to kill the processes running the backup. There was 3 of them, 1 for compression, and I forget the other two. When that didn't work I did kill -9. The processes were killed.
The GUI was still flakey so I tried login/logging out and it still showed question marks and it showed the backup as still going on. So then I tried "reboot now" on command line and I lost access to the server. I'll have to go reboot it manually.
Anyhow, my question is, when you backup a VM does it backup all the drives within it? Should I need backup a VM if I pass hardware to it? Is there a way on the GUI to schedule a backup of the VM without the drives in it or do I need to use command line?
Also, is there an option to backup the promox config itself?

Thanks,

hmm, I've manually rebooted the server twice and can't ssh/ping to proxmox. This may have killed proxmox. Will have to hook up a monitor to it this weekend.

if you share back a VM's drive to the host running the VM you will always get into henn/egg trouble regardless of the protocol.

You can do it of course for short times for a transfer of data, but there are other ways to do that (scp or whatever). Backing up vm's into a VM running on the same host is a bad idea, think a little bit on it ....