Automate Hotswap Drive Bay with ZFS in PBS

mnorfleet

Feb 9, 2024
I am new to home lab stuff and to zfs, but I am loving learning it. I am wanting to create a rotating offsite backup solution, I purchased two big ole HDDs that I plan to insert into my hotswap bays, run my import script to bring in the zfs pools nicely and replicate my backup pool to this drive and eject the other drive (which was there all month staying up to date) which will then be shipped off again to be stored in another location. After a month its mailed back to me, I plug it in and run the script again and send the other one away so the drives ware evenly.

Hardware: One PBS host (bare metal) running zfs pool called "backups" (its mirrored 18TB, with hot spare) is in charge of the datastore in PBS gui also called backups. I have Three other Proxmox VE hosts that run various VMs and containers. All use proxmox interface to send backups to the PBS datastore automatically like every hour. Basically if I mess up a VM I just roll back an hour and try again. I like the way this works currently. So my data is stored on local disks on the proxmox ve hosts, then backed up to backups datastore which is on the PBS host. Thus I want to create this rotating insurance policy 3rd copy of my data stored encrypted offsite.

The script chatgpt and google gemini helped me create imports my rotating disks correctly, prompts me for unlocking encryption, but when I try to update the zfs snapshots with zfs send / receive commands there is something wrong in the script and says "warning: cannot send 'backups@20240821-1733': not an earlier snapshot from the same fs". I have a simple crontab -e job running time stamped snapshots on the backups pool. I was able to zfs send an initial snapshot called "initial_replicate" from backups to offsite-a/backup-archive dataset, but now my zfs send is says "not an earlier snapshot from the same fs". I am just confused.