Attempting to install TrueNAS VM on Proxmox, trouble with RAID controller passthrough

tyrian

Oct 17, 2023
Hello everyone, I should start by saying that I'm very new to Linux and virtualization so I'm sorry if this is a really dumb problem. Essentially, I am trying to install a TrueNAS VM on Proxmox, that part went relatively smoothly. My server has a hardware RAID controller (shows up in PCI devices as "MegaRAID SAS 2208 [Thunderbolt]") and I want to passthrough that device to TrueNAS. I was able to create a virtual drive in Proxmox and pass that through to TrueNAS, that seemed to show up properly (though had some issues with permissions, unrelated). However after some reading, I am a little worried that this configuration could cause problems down the line that I won't easily be able to solve. So I figured I would passthrough the entire controller and let TrueNAS manage the whole thing. Problem is, when I add the device to TrueNAS in Proxmox, I am unable to then create a pool on it in TrueNAS because the physical drive doesn't show up like the virtual drive did.

The first issue I had was with IOMMU, which was not allowing me to add the controller to the TrueNAS VM, this was fixed by adding "GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="intel_iommu=on"" to /etc/default/grub. I'm now able to add the device, but its worth noting that there is nothing in the "Mapped Devices" dropdown, all devices are found under "Raw Devices." However, booting into TrueNAS does not show any drives on which to create a pool.