[SOLVED] API Token config

Veeh

Jul 2, 2017
Hi,

I'm new to the API world. But with what I've been able to do so far, I'm a fan!!

I have been able to work with the UserCredential/Ticket auth method.
Reusing the AuthCookie and Csrfpreventiontoken. All good.
I made a few scripts to automate some actions, and it's working fine.

Now I would like to go to the next step, skip this ticket request and use the API token for Auth.
But it's giving me data=null !
screenshot.35.jpg

I'm passing the token as an Authorization value in the header. But I'm missing something.
Could you help me?
thank you.

Veeh

just to make sure - the "TOKENID" in your screenshot is you censoring your API token secret? ;) if not, you need to put the secret that got displayed when generating the token in its place..

do you see anything in the logs of the PVE host? journalctl -u pveproxy -u pvedaemon -f and repeat your attempt..

Hello,

Thank you fabian. Sorry about the misleading screenshot, but yes "TOKENID" was the token secret.
I could not see anything in the log when running the query.
Where I usually get "successful auth for user 'api@pve'" (When using a ticket)
So I created a new token for the same user and it worked!

Weird, when the info is wrong the request returns a 401 invalid user/token...
the data:null threw me off, I should have tried with another token way sooner.
thanks.
Have a nice day

Edit: I realized something, I had "privilege separation" enable with the first token. Not the new one.
So I created another one to test this, and that's it. With privilege separation enable, I get data:null as a response.
You can disable it afterward, and it's working fine.
I presume this function is there to disable a token without removing it?
It's enabled by default though.

Last edited:
Hello,

Thank you fabian. Sorry about the misleading screenshot, but yes "TOKENID" was the token secret.
I could not see anything in the log when running the query.