Any way to just show VM names?

godbucket

Apr 5, 2024
Hello, newbie here. Excited to learn more about Proxmox.

So! Hey, I get it, you guys are xNIX guys and you love to number things and "that's just the way it is." I get it, I do. But...

My company is about to dump VMware due to all Broadcom's changes, but I'm sorry guys, there's no way in hell they're going to pay lots of money for Proxmox if they have to reference their hundreds and hundreds of VMs by a number. Sorry, its just not going to happen. They'll move to Hyper-V before they'd do this.

So that's why I will ask again like so many others in these forums: is there any way around this? Can we not just have the VMs name displayed in the view and within storage? No numbers?!?!

(...preparing for all the hateful comments coming my way...)

Nothing will prevent you from creating two or more VMs called "Windows". All PVE cares about is the VMID that has to be unique to identify/point to the correct VM. How would you solve this without breaking existing millions of VMs where the name might not be unique?

Because of this... (see screenshot below)

They don't want to browse their virtual infrastructure looking for numbers. Can't say I blame them.

They want to see "SQL07-PROD" or "WEB03-TST" or whatnot. Not 101, 102, 103, etc.

And it gets much worse from a storage perspective; within the datastores it doesn't even mention the guest name! Just "vm-101".

Hey, they got money to spend for a nice enterprise subscription, and I'm trying to steer them your way. But I need help, because this is a deal breaker (and, in my opinion, with good reason)

1712341083377.png

indeed, in the storage view , "guest name" after the disks will be nice , an "allocated" size disk column will be nice too.