Alert /dev/sda1 does not exist?

S

stevelabar

I have a .vmdk flat file that is a virtual machine we use on VMWare obviously. I'm trying to migrate this to my proxmox installation by simply going to the /images/id of instance/ and replacing vm-115-disk1.vmdk with my proxmox file.

This technique has worked very well for me with other .vmdk files. However, this particular file boots and gets to Begin: waiting for root file system.. and after some waiting I see the following error:

Check root= bootarg cat /proc/cmdline por missing modules devices cat /proc/modules ls /dev

ALERT! /dev/sda1 does not exist.

I suspect it is because the virtual machine is trying to find its boot info at /dev/sda1 but proxmox has it somewhere else?

I searched around and tried going into GRUB to attempt to change where the vm boots from but have been unable to get that to work.

Is that going down the right direction?

Any help would be very much appreciated. I';ll be honest i'm not an expert in the linux/debian environment.

Attachments

• prox.PNG
    prox.PNG
    23.2 KB · Views: 36
Hi,
looks like an old guest (I guess your disk has another name like vda os so).
Can you post the vm-config? And the filetype?
Code:
cat /etc/pve/qemu-server/115.conf
file /var/lib/vz/images/115/vm-115-disk-1.vmdk
You can also change the /etc/fstab entry inside the VM to boot correctly - therefor you need to boot an live cd like grml inside your VM. See which device you use (fdisk -l), or better use UUIDs (blkid) and use the UUID from the first partition in fstab.

Udo

Hi,
looks like an old guest (I guess your disk has another name like vda os so).
Can you post the vm-config? And the filetype?
Code:
cat /etc/pve/qemu-server/115.conf
file /var/lib/vz/images/115/vm-115-disk-1.vmdk