Advices on hardware update and storage

PerkySloth

Jun 29, 2020
Hi everyone,

I currently administer a Proxmox server installed (by someone else who's not there anymore) on an old Dell XPS 8100, Core i7 860, 16Gb RAM, 4 x 500Gb HDD, 3 monitoring and ticketing VMs are currently running on it.

I want to upgrade all this with two Dell Precision T5600 (for redundancy), 2 x Xeon E5-2630 and 32Gb RAM in anticipation of several P2V migrations (license and application servers) and creation of new VMs for web and database servers.

I'm quite new to virtualization and I wonder what kind of storage I should adopt knowing that I have access to several 4TB HDDs, some 256Gb SSDs and 4 x 1TB SSDs. Which ones should I use for the system or for the VMs?

Thanks in advance for your helpful advices!

hi,

I'm quite new to virtualization and I wonder what kind of storage I should adopt knowing that I have access to several 4TB HDDs, some 256Gb SSDs and 4 x 1TB SSDs. Which ones should I use for the system or for the VMs?

will this be a cluster or a single node?

with so many disks and 32G RAM, i'd say it makes sense to use zfs raid. (of course without hardware raid)

also check here[0] for a general overview of the storage options.

[0]: https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Storage

Hello !

This will be a cluster of two servers so i can replicate my VMs.

In the end i used one 256Gb SSD for the system and a ZFS RAID 0 (without hardware raid yes) of two 4TB HDD for VM, i'm really not sure that was the best thing to do but i didn't get any further yet so i can start over for this.

As for why 32GB of RAM, which is in fact 48GB, i guess your question was related to the number of disks installed, i know there's the "1GB for 1TB" rule for ZFS but i'm not sure yet how much my VM's will consume later so i figured this was a good start.

I checked the storage part of the wiki yes and ZFS seems to be definitely the best option.

Thanks for your help.

About