Advice for new installation.

WhiteTiger

May 16, 2020
Italy
I am new to PBS, I apologize for the trivial questions. I am reading the documentation, but in the meantime I would like some first advice.

My server is a Dell R510 with 2x480GB SDDs in RAID1; 3x600GB HDDs in RAID5; 9x300GB HDDs in RAID6.
With the Dell PERC H700 controller I am not able to view the disks individually and therefore I have to configure the RAID from the controller.

I wonder if it is worth installing PBS on SSD or on a 16GB USB stick.
If on SSD, how should I partition it?

The disks were already partitioned before, how can I initialize them to use them from scratch?

Thanks for the help and advice.

Last edited:
I wonder if it is worth installing PBS on SSD or on a 16GB USB stick.
Not sure if USB will work. Atleast PVE shouldn't be installed on a USB stick because it is writing 30GB per day. Would be intersting to know if PBS is also writing that much. But I think it should be less because there shoudn't be HA cluster config files written every minute.

PBS is by the way not designed to run on HDDs. It will work but isn't fast because PBS needs alot of IOPS because everything is split into small chunks. So you for example got 1 million small chucks and each time you run the garbadge collection or verify task it needs to go through each of the chunks.

The disks were already partitioned before, how can I initialize them to use them from scratch?
If it is like with PVE you can use the wipefs command or use a partition tool of your choice to delete all partitions.

PBS is by the way not designed to run on HDDs. It will work but isn't fast because PBS needs alot of IOPS because everything is split into small chunks. So you for example got 1 million small chucks and each time you run the garbadge collection or verify task it needs to go through each of the chunks.
Thanks for your answer.