Additional IPs through Proxmox

jrshaw

Sep 7, 2019
Hi all,

So I'm very new to the Proxmox world and still quite a Junior technical support engineer so I am not greatest with my technical skills which is why I decided to see if I can find some help here.

So I bought a server through Hetzner, turned it in to a Virtual Environment with Proxmox (loving it so far btw, good effort) and decided to buy some additional IPs to do more in-depth networking as this is where I want to learn the most at the moment.

Now, I followed this guide: https://blog.no-panic.at/2016/08/09...RuK6eJY0D7rnNTA5sy5OTYKntktxO_uo5OhybeWt5ftpk which seems to have worked so far except, I don't really like using debian for client Machines, I'm mostly a CentOS/Red Hat kind of guy, and also, Hetzner has the auto-installer set up for proxmox so they did that bit and added the 1 IP that came with it.

I have these additional IPs on vmbr0 on a /29 range, on my proxmox host, how would I now get this over to my CentOS box and then eventually a Windows server? I've never really done networking before, so this is all very new to me but any assistance would be very greatful :D

So lets say I had for instance: 1.1.1.184/29, this would give me:

1.1.1.184 - 1.1.1.191 on a subnet mask of 255.255.255.248, am I correct? So how would I know what the gateway is for this IP range, or would I use one within this range as the gateway for the others? If so how would I set that on vmbr0 to see that certain ip as the gateway?

I dont know if I am correct in any of this, this is why I am asking :) or maybe people have some better guides to read for me :)

Kindest Regards,

Jammy.

Sorry, I forgot to mention, the VM I want to try and assign one of my additional IPs to is CentOS7 and it has a NIC connected to the vmbr0 bridge which has the addtional IPs. I have the NIC config in eth0 which is:

HWADDR=HW addr I have used is the one of the NIC on the VM generated by proxmox.
TYPE=Ethernet
BOOTPROTO=none