Adding new HDD's

vayana

Sep 20, 2012
Hello,

I'm a complete noob to linux, and just can't figure out how to add 2 new HDD's to store my VM's on.
What I want to do can't be too hard, but every time I try to follow instructions from the internet, it doesn't match with what I get to see on my screen. I already installed proxmox ve to HDD 1. Preferably I'd want to add 2 1TB drives as RAID1, but just having the 2 drives available and distinguishable would be great. eventually I want to use openVZ and run multiple ClearOS VM's with a postgres DB in a cluster. But to start of with, just getting 1 server running 1 standalone VM on a separate HDD would be great.

This, this and this are amongst the things I've tried. But like most explanations on linux-based solutions, the answers just leave me more puzzled. Just do this or that using terminology I've never heard before doesn't make it easier. (Same goes for the instruction videos on how to install: If you already know how to create/link NFS/scsi shared drives, and use a mounted cd with VIRTIO drivers to use during installation; I doubt that you need a video explaining how to install Windows on a KVM.)

If I do fdisk -l from the console, I don't get sda or sdb, but: Disk /dev/dm-2 doesn't contain a valid partition table
(also the fdisk command generates too much text to fit my screen, so I don't get to read most of it; just the bottom part)

Then all attempts to partition/mount the drive aren't successful either, as it won't show up under storage in the webpanel.
Also at boot, some things seem to have "failed" (mount drive X), but again it's too fast to read.
I would really appreciate it to get a detailed explanation, or some useful links. As a noob, I don't know how to best phrase my question to google, but this doesn't get me very far either.

Any help is much appreciated, Cheers

Hello,

I'm a complete noob to linux, and just can't figure out how to add 2 new HDD's to store my VM's on.