Adding BOXNUC6CAYH Wifi/BT drivers

xgeeks.ca

Feb 26, 2019
Whitby, Ontario
www.xgeeks.ca
Intel Wifi Drivers not present, and I have no idea how to enable the Wifi module (on-board)

I am completely new to linux, I have google searched for the last 50 minutes and really only found drivers for Windows. I guess I also found linux drivers, but they need to be compiled so I dunno.

NMCLI reports : Network Controller: Intel Corporation Device 24fb (rev 10).

Where do I go from here?

I am assuming this will likely be an easy question for experienced users?

Thank you in advance.

Will

Proxmox does not include the firmware. This package conflicts and can't be installed as is, you need to unpack (dpkg -x) it and copy it to the right directory.
https://wiki.debian.org/iwlwifi

Yes, Alwin is right. It has package conflicts. You should definitely checkout that Debian Wiki guide for WiFi

I really appreciate the responses. I am completed new to linux so I'll do the required reading.

Stuck at Fatal Error: iwlwifi is in use:

# modprobe -r iwlwifi ; modprobe iwlwifi
---
generates this warning
---
W: (pve-apt-hook) !! WARNING !!
W: (pve-apt-hook) You are attempting to remove the meta-package 'proxmox-ve'!

W: (pve-apt-hook) touch '/please-remove-proxmox-ve'

Should I do this?

E: Sub-process /usr/share/proxmox-ve/pve-apt-hook returned an error code (1)
E: Failure running script /usr/share/proxmox-ve/pve-apt-hook

Will I lose my current VMs?

Last edited:
Ok, I removed proxmox-ve and installed the iwlwifi driver. Following the instructions (using pve > shell) I ran in to the same error as below, and followed these instructions to overcome. It really feels like this is a lot to get an Internal Wifi driver working.

My USB RALINK card was USB plug and play and easily passed hardware from HOST to VM.

----