[SOLVED] accidentally converted vm to template now cant undo

dreamworks

New Member
Aug 16, 2023
14
2
3
Hi,

I accidentally converted a vm to a template yet i have no space to clone or build another.
I removed the template option from the .conf file but I can't start the vm as the disks are now write protected

how can I undo this?
 
You could try to rename the disk image file from base-VMID-disk-N.qcow2 to vm-VMID-disk-N.qcow2 and change the name in the .conf file.
If you do not use file based storage you need to rename the logical volume or the RBD.
where are these located please
 
Alternatively, create a full clone and remove the template afterwards.
 

About

The Proxmox community has been around for many years and offers help and support for Proxmox VE, Proxmox Backup Server, and Proxmox Mail Gateway.
We think our community is one of the best thanks to people like you!

Get your subscription!

The Proxmox team works very hard to make sure you are running the best software and getting stable updates and security enhancements, as well as quick enterprise support. Tens of thousands of happy customers have a Proxmox subscription. Get yours easily in our online shop.

Buy now!