A few questions regarding my first lab

ceruza

Feb 9, 2018
Hello Proxmox users!

I am working on setting up a small personal "cloud" with a few servers. I am an enthusiastic infrastructure newbie, and I am hoping some friendly soul will push me in the right direction.

Background
My ambition is to use this infrastructure for a wide array of things - acting as backup for me and my extended family, running various things related to software development/hosting (kubernetes, ci-tools, git, web servers, databases) and maybe even a game server or two.
I initially looked at Cloudstack and Openstack, but I think that those technologies aren't all that suited for a small, personal deployment which has very real limitations such as only one WAN port in my apartment. I don't see any benefit in adding a lot of extra complexity since I won't be able to leverage the features they provide.

My current thoughts at hardware:
And so I arrived at Proxmox + Ceph. I found this video that demonstrated creating a Proxmox cluster that also ran Ceph on the same servers.
https://www.proxmox.com/en/training/video-tutorials/item/install-ceph-server-on-proxmox-ve

It seemed to be a great solution for me since I don't have room (or economy) for a large amount of servers. I am thinking about getting three of these machines:

CPU: Intel - Core i7-8700 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master - Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler
Motherboard: MSI - Z370-A PRO ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Memory: Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16GB (1 x 16GB) DDR4-2666 Memory
Storage: Western Digital - Green 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Storage: 2 x Seagate - Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Case: Fractal Design - Define R5 (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case ($176.99 @ Amazon)
Power Supply: Corsair - RMx 550W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
Wired Network Adapter: 2 x Intel - EXPI9301CTBLK PCI-Express x1 10/100/1000 Mbps Network