Memory usage on Proxmox is different than vm

DooRFraim

May 16, 2022
prox usage.pngvm usage.png

I have been running this Windows 11 vm normally with 8gb of RAM without issue for the better part of a month. A couple of days ago, it started running very slowly and I noticed that the usage on proxmox was very high as shown above. I added an additional 4gb of RAM, but the utilization on proxmox rose to meet it. On task manager, the vm shows that it has over 10gb of memory available. I created another vm on the same node and it immediately had the same issue on startup. I made a third on a different node and it also had poor performance and incredibly high RAM usage despite being a blank slate.

I'm pretty new to proxmox, and I'm not really sure how to go about fixing this. The only common thread I can think is that they all use the same bulk storage, but I'm not confident it would be related. Any guidance?

Did you install the virtio balooning driver and the QEMU guest agent as seen here?: https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Windows_2022_guest_best_practices

Also keep in mind that "available" RAM isn't the same as "free" RAM. Usually Win will use up all RAM you throw at it. If programs or services won't need it it will be used for caching. If you don't intalled the guest agent with ballooning drivers PVE will show you the "free" RAM as free RAM and not the "available" RAM as free RAM.

I don't think so, at the very least I did not specifically do any manual installation. I do remember mounting the virtio iso when I created the vm, however. Nevertheless, I did install and reinstall the Ballooning driver earlier today. I just installed guest agent and confirmed that it was present in services, but nothing has changed after restarting the vm.

Ahh I understand. I can't honestly say that I ever looked at the utilization that was being reported prior to this issue, it may be that its always shown this high of a number