Slow disk writes with ZFS RAID 10

Vedeyn

Dec 30, 2018
Good Afternoon,

I'm a bit new to ZFS so please bear with me. I recently configured two identical servers (Ryzen 7 3700x, 96GB RAM, 500GB NVMe OS drive, 4 8TB HDDs, 2.5Gb NIC) with Proxmox. I set up the 4 8TB HDDs on each in a RAID-Z1 pool through the Proxmox GUI. I wasnt particularly happy with the performance in some cases so I decided to destroy the zpool on one node and set it up in RAID-10 using the steps provided here: https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/ZFS_on_Linux

The problem is that Im actually seeing some odd behavior when running rsyncs between nodes. When doing an rsync (~25GB movie) from the RAID-Z1 to the RAID-10 array, speeds start off around 260MB/s but pretty quickly drop down to about 95MB/s and stay there. Syncs from the RAID-10 to the RAID-Z1 however start and pretty much stay at about 160MB/s the entire time. I get the same results in and outside of a VM. Id expect to see the exact opposite performance numbers.

Im at a bit of a loss as to why this would happen so any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

When doing an rsync (~25GB movie) from the RAID-Z1 to the RAID-10 array, speeds start off around 260MB/s but pretty quickly drop down to about 95MB/s and stay there.
This sounds like some cache is involved. Once it is full, the speed drops to the actual speed that can be achieved. Might be some CPU or IO bound thing with rsync.

Syncs from the RAID-10 to the RAID-Z1 however start and pretty much stay at about 160MB/s the entire time.
A raid10 like pool and a raidz1 pool have quite different performance properties depending on the kind of IO that is happening. What you are doing with that is basically a bandwidth test.